using the last of my laundry detergent

04May09

and I want to convert my laundry detergent to a greener alternative–something less than 10 dollars. I’ll let you know when I find one. right now I gotta study!

One Response to “using the last of my laundry detergent”

  1. 1 livinglime

    It’s cheapest to make your own:

    1 quart water (boiling)
    2 cups bar soap (grated)
    2 cups borax
    1.5 to 2 cups washing soda (I use 1.75 and add baking soda, but some people use less)

    1. On a stove on low heat, stir grated soap into boiling water until melted.

    2. Pour the soap mixture into a large, clean pail (I use a kitty litter pail) and add the borax and washing soda, stirring well until it is disolved.

    3. Add 2 gallons of water, stiring until well mixed.

    4. Use 1/4 cup for each load of laundry, and store in covered pail. Once it’s cool, you can add 5 – 7 drops of essential oil per gallon, if you prefer your laundry scented. The soap will gel, so you need to stir it each time you use it.

    Cheers!
    -melissa
    http://www.livinglime.ca


Leave a Reply

